TODAY'S bygones looks at the fascinating story behind one of Blackburn's most famous statues.

This photo from the Lancashire Telegraph archives shows the statue of William Henry Hornby in Limbrick, Blackburn.

The statue is looking across Sudell Cross down Northgate, with the Sessions House and Public Halls in the centre of the picture.

The 10ft 9in hollow bronze statue on its 13ft 6in grey granite pedestal was moved in 1968 when it became an obstruction to traffic.

It was re-sited alongside the town hall in King William Street in 1970, being unveiled by its subject's 81-year-old grandson, Sir Russell Hornby.

The tribute to William Henry Hornby was paid for by one of his workers.

Ald Hornby was the first mayor of Blackburn and he was renowned as a forceful personality, being widely known as 'Th'Owd Gam Cock'.

He owned Brookhouse Mills, where one of his workers was one John Margerison, who was a roller coverer when he retired, after almost half a century of service.

Mr Margerison lived in Brookhouse Lane, a widower with no children and when he died in 1907, his estate was revealed to amount to £5,989.

In his will one of his bequests was for a statue of his boss, while another was for £600 for a peal of bells at St Michael's Church, where he regularly worshipped.